- Illinois ranks third best in teen driving safety
- June 15, 2015
Five teens were killed in car crashes last month in just one county in Illinois. According to the National Safety Council, the summertime is the worst time to drive as teens are getting their licenses for the first time. Because they are still learning how to drive, they are more prone to getting into accidents.
It is estimated that six teens will be killed in a car accident per day between Memorial Day and Labor Day.
However, Illinois ranks as the third best state for teen drivers, best state that has the least amount of distracted driving or texting incidents while driving, and second for least DUI traffic violations per licensed driver.
Why is this so?
Part of it has to do with the high number of cameras installed to slow down speeding and the other part has to do with strict regulations.
-Teen drivers must receive a parent or legal guardian consent to obtain an instruction permit.
-They must be enrolled in an approved drivers education course and pass vision and written tests.
-Driving after 10 p.m. on weekdays and 11 p.m. on the weekends is prohibited.
-Must practice driving a minimum of 50 hours with a parent or adult over 21 that has a valid driver’s license.
-Must not acquire any driving convictions during the nine-month permit phase. For example, only one passenger per vehicle and no cell phones including the hands-free kind until 19 years of age.
-Must maintain a conviction-free driving record for six months prior to turning 18 before moving to the full licensing phase.
-Only one passenger under age 20 is permitted for the first 12 months of licensing.
-Nighttime driving restrictions remain the same.
Full licensing begins at 18 years old. Two moving violation convictions within a 24-month period results in a one-month suspension.
Driving privileges will be revoked for any person convicted of street racing. Law enforcement may impound the vehicle for up to five days.
Drivers in the state of Illinois must be covered by minimum liability insurance. All vehicle owners are required to show proof of coverage during the vehicle registration process. The state of Illinois minimum liability insurance limits are listed below.
-$20,000 for the injury or death of one person in a crash
-$40,000 for the injury or death of more than one person in a crash
-$15,000 for the damage to property of another person
- Category: Articles Library, Auto Insurance, Company Profiles
Life Insurance Quotes
Leave a Reply